Although many people think that the luxuries and conveniences of contemporary life are entirely harmless, they in fact prevent people from developing into truly strong and independent individuals.

In spite of the objection of many, the speaker asserts that the luxuries and conveniences of the contemporary life prevent people from growing them into truly strong and independent individuals. I completely agree with the given assertion for the following reasons.

In modern era, human beings are making a rapid progress in the scientific development and technological innovation and discoveries. This advancement in the scientific technology has made our life easier and comfortable than ever before. However, it is my personal belief that such technological advancement has also made modern people more dependent on these sophisticates material and preventing them from growing into truly independent individuals. For instance, the advent of calculator has made even the most complex mathematical calculation easy and fast. However, students are being more and more dependent on calculator even to make a simple mathematical calculation such as addition, subtraction, multiplication and division. The use of calculator in this manner by students is in fact not only making them calculator dependent, but also making them mentally weak, or preventing them from growing into a truly independent individual. Similarly, the same students are availing the benefits of internet in a wrong way; they are using internet to find the answer of the problems, and this activity is in fact preventing them from growing into mentally strong person.

Similarly, the discovery of different sophisticated tools and devices has not only added luxury and convenience in the life of modern people, but the dependence of people on those tools has also made them weak and preventing them from growing into a truly independent individuals. For instance, modern people are using bikes and cars to commute from one place to another, and they deny walking by themselves even a short distance. This trend of using automobile has made them not only automobile dependent, but also physically obese and fat. Because of this physical inactivity modern people are rendering vulnerable to different diseases such as blood pressure, sugar, uric acid, kidney problem, hypertension, and different heart related problems. According to a survey, more than 30% of the medical cases admitted to the hospital worldwide are due to physical inactivity and obesity duet o the overuse of these devices. In this scenario, the means of luxury and convenience are not completely benign.

Further, with the advancement in the scientific technology, modern people have become more and more dependent upon several tools and devices and have lost their physical dexterity of weaving and knitting clothes with their hands, they have lost their physical dexterity in making different types of handicrafts. In addition to this, modern young people are being more obsessed in using internet and playing online games which has resulted in serious problem in their eyesight and mental state. Thus, the means of luxury and conveniences are not completely benign, and also prevents from growing into a truly independent individuals.

In conclusion, I completely agree with the given assertion that luxuries and conveniences have prevented people from growing into truly independent individuals.