In any field—business, politics, education, government—those in power should be required to step down after five years.

In order for any society to prosper, its leaders play the most crucial roles. However, the need for probing the venality of any leader is similarly crucial as it becomes the dominant factor in the plummet of a society. Except for rare cases, especially in politics, those in power tend to exercise their power for their own benefits, and eventually lean towards corruption. Thus, as a general rule, requiring someone to step down from power after five years seems to be a reasonable approach.

There are several examples, especially in the developing or the under-developed nations, where, when a political party comes into power, it remains in power for decades – through the so-called “democratic process” as it likes to define (take Sheikh Hasina of Bangladesh as an example), or through tyranny (take Gaddafi or Saddam Hussain as examples). Even if the initiation of its reign was with the right intentions, but its failure to keep its probity upright through the course of its power, makes it fear of castigation it might face if any other party takes its place. As a result, it turns towards immoral means to remain in power, and since there is no law to restrict its power to a certain time limit, it continues to breed on its wrongdoings; when someone is in power for so long, he/she eventually learns the vulnerabilities in the system and therefore can exploit it with much ease. However, if the person in power knows his/her timeframe to be in power, he/she will check vigorously his/her actions fearing persecution he/she might face once not in power.

Also, when someone stays in power for very long, a generation may loose on the experience of exercising power and thus not gain required leadership expertise and experience in the field. This is obviously important because each generation has its own perception of the world which may differ from others, and therefore needs to be addressed. But this would not be possible if someone remains in power for a long period.

However, it can also be true that the person currently in power is actually an assiduous and a candid individual with little or no venality, and also understands the people spread throughout the spectrum of different generations. Under such scenario, to remove such a person after five years will be counterproductive. However, unfortunately such scenarios are rare.

Human are slaves to their whims and desires and our leaders are not any exceptions - allowing them to remain in power for a long time increases the risk of them being indulged into corruptions. Therefore, steps should be taken which require those in power to resign from their position after five years interval.