Critical judgment of work in any given field has little value unless it comes from someone who is an expert in that field.

Whole of our education system is primarily based on creating experts in different fields of study. This is with the aim so that people can concentrate on a particular area and provide more comprehensive solutions and suggestions to present world problems; this cannot be expected from someone not so proficient in the field. It is tantamount to ignorance to have received any sort of critical judgment in any given field from someone who has little or no expertise in the field.

In medical science, until the students choose their major, they pretty much have common core courses, and thus all the doctors have some sort of knowledge outside their major. However, you will never find an oncologist making decisions, or even giving suggestions in the eye department of a hospital. The plain reason being, he/she knows that his/her expertise is not in the field and it is only ethical not to interfere; he/she realizes the ramifications of him/her making decisions outside his expertise. That was just an example, but is true for any given field.

At least the previous example was based on a person who is somewhat relevant to the field – medical – but how about someone who does not even fall in the domain of hospitals? Often we come around people who tend to prescribe medicines to others based on their own experience – “I had the same symptoms and the doctor gave me these antibiotics. I think you should try them as well.” Sounds familiar? We are surrounded by such dilettantes and many a times without even realizing the consequences accept whatever is being said. The “expert” probably do not even realize that every individual has different physiology and therefore the doctor may not have prescribed antibiotics – in fact doctors nowadays prefer avoiding antibiotics for the patients given its negative impacts on the body.

However, it would be a wrong assumption that whenever we identify someone as an expert, does not mean he/she is a “know-it-all” guy; rather there can be issues he/she may not be aware of even within the field of his/her expertise. This often is realized in engineering fields, and more specifically power plants – a PhD holder who developed the high-efficient evaporator, when asked to find out the recently figured problem, will probably crunch on serious calculus to solve the issue, whereas, all it takes is a stroke of hammer to fix it. The diploma engineer who was standing by - even though not an expert in evaporator designs with his experience working with similar machines – knew the solution all along.

There is no doubt of the need of expertise to make any important decisions in any given field. An inexpert decision, although may carry some weight, most often will result in counterproductive consequences.