Some people believe that the purpose of education is to free the mind and the spirit. Others believe that formal education tends to restrain our minds and spirits rather than set them free.

Education is the backbone of any society to prosper and maintain a sustainable development. Its purpose is to free the mind and the spirit in order to achieve ideas and innovations required for a fruitful society. Having said that, formal education - while according to some restricts our minds and spirits - is designed to free the mind and the spirit in a constructive way, rather than a way in which divisions among people may outburst causing an ultimate chaos.

Whenever a formal education is designed by the government and the academicians associated with it, one important key factor which is addressed is how to coalesce the members of the society into one properly functioning body. When it is left free on people to decide what education they want to perceive, it can often be expected that unorthodox views may arise onto the surface causing division among people. Stretching the spectrum on a particular view because of no restrain in education will cause instability within the society which is counterproductive. The formal education is not there to limit science and research or to limit free-thinking, rather guide the free-thinkers in the right direction.

If education is left loose with people to perceive the world whatever way they want, it can be expected that views will arise which any sane person will reject. For example, in recent times, a person in Germany has filed a petition asking for pedophilia to be legalized. This unacceptable view grew to the extent that a woman has recently lectured on TedTalk as to why we should not treat a pedophile any differently! The American Psychiatrist Association has pedophilia printed as a mental disorder in their books and yet such unscientific views are being asked to be accepted in the name of free-thinking.

However, there is no doubt, as we learn from history, there are events when people were called heretics and punished for suggesting that the earth rotates around the sun and not the other way around. Many of the great inventions and theories probably would not exist today if some of the free-spirited individuals did not break the shackles of the “pre-historic” formal education.

We are at an era, in which information can be verified scientifically and with proper rational, thus allowing us to be restrained more logically than before with a formal education. Therefore, formal education is absolutely necessary to keep a society from falling apart into ideological factions, while encouraging free-thinking within limits justified by the proper course of human development.