The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

Leadership quality among the youth needs to be honed in order to have a society prospering and maintaining a sustainable development. This can be done in several ways - be it through cooperation or competition. Both have its merits and demerits, however, as an educator and a leader (in many aspects) myself, I have realized that cooperation is the better key deal to achieving the qualities of a leader. Thus, whichever field someone is aiming for to become a leader in, he/she definitely feed his sense of cooperation more than the sense of competition.

To begin with an example - the Trump administration has probably seen one of the most resignations from its seniors compared to previous presidential administrations. Barack Obama, on the other hand, was very popular within his administration. The key difference between these two is very clear on the stages and in the interviews - Obama is more cooperative and facilitating compared to Trump who is by far has done only what he thinks or believes is right. This is a perfect example for the youth, I believe, to show them how cooperation from the early stages of their lives can shape them to be a leader who is accepted wholeheartedly. When you are cooperative, be default you show empathy towards your associates, which many times enables them to open-up with you even at a personal level - this definitely will help you immensely to have a better grasp of your associates and bring out the best of them, yielding in a productive environment. I, as an educator, have often found this to be true when one my students will come up to me and share his personal problems to explain his poor grades, and after I consult him and cooperate with him to work things out, many a times I have the grades improved for that student.

Furthermore, as can be seen from the corporate world, where competition is rising every single second, the best way these big companies win these competitions is by making teams - you have marketing teams, sales teams, advertising teams, etc. So if you are not a team player, you will hardly survive to even participate in that competition. In fact, you need to be a team-player first before you get into the competition and lead the market. In the present world, as the current tend suggests, in order to climb the ladder, you must be the guy who can work in an environment with full of team spirit.

However, there is no doubt that competition has its own role as well molding someone into a leader. Competition often helps a person push that extra mile required to be in the leadership position. If you do not have the slightest of competition within your thoughts, you probably would not be able to showcase your leadership skills.

Cooperation or competition, both are required for leadership, but both have their own weights on the output, and definitely they are not equal. Cooperation to me has the higher percentage of weight and the difference is quite significant. Thus, in order to bring the best of leadership from the youth, they should be entrenched with cooperation more rather than competition.