In any field of endeavor, it is impossible to make a significant contribution without first being strongly influenced by past achievements within that field.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

It is human nature to continuously improve and broaden their limits. We humans can never be satisfied in what we have and have a serious appetite of further pushing our limits. During this process, some completely ignore the previous knowledge and give a head-on in a different way while some try to make a progress in the banal way. The prompt suggests the possibility of enhancement in any sector is almost nil by not regarding the precedent development. I mostly agree with the prompt in two ways and also present a case where previous knowledge might not be of much value.

Firstly, we all have known that “Failure is pillar of success”; “Mistakes are the best teacher”. We can only progress in a field if we peruse the past activities. This gives us a clear idea about where in the past had we been lagging so we can now focus our attention in the specific part. For example, in a space endeavor, if the space shuttle designed did not cross the earth’s gravity in next approach the scientist must focus on the speed of the shuttle. Next time if the shuttle crossed the gravitational field of the earth and loses its track in space then the scientist must now revise the trajectory of the capsule. A great and historic achievement can never be made on first attempt but is a result of continuous development achieved by overcoming past limitations and wrongdoings.

Secondly, not only success in failure gives a great contribution; a better enhancement of previously so-called successful attempts can also give us great outcomes. For example, Michael Grambell invented telephone. If inventors were satisfied in this, we could never have a cell phone in our hand. It is our perceived nature that we usually are not satisfied in what we have and always desire for more. This leads to better achievement. Even now with mobile phone in almost all of our hand; doing possible all that could be imagined including shopping, communication from home; engineers are trying to make it more thin, small and more flexible. In future, we may certainly have a phone which could be folded and easily accommodated in small pocket like our paper notes. This can be obtained not by completely ignoring the technique now used to develop the phones but redesigning the materials used to make the phones.

However, strongly focusing on the past, can make an individual lose the hope and discourage him from moving forward. A racer who is not able to get in the top 10 position for past 3-4 years now must not look for where he was lagging but must completely change his riding style with better initial speed, good braking, cornering and new mentality of handling unexpected situation. If he focusses on where he was wrong and try to go with it, he may never get to the top position in his racing career which is ephemeral. In this case past experience does not hold good but must have an extraordinary approach for success.

Thus, not only being directed to the past achievement and revitalizing it can lead to suffice but an entirely new approach with complete disregard to the previous ways can lead desired result depending on the cases in real life.