In any field of endeavor, it is impossible to make a significant contribution without first being strongly influenced by past achievements within the field.

Faced by recent innovations or breakthroughs done by some intellectual persons, we are used to considering them as a genius. A genius is defined as someone who shows extraordinary insights or ability in certain fields. At first glance, these so-called geniuses may be regarded as figures who are self made through unprecedented talent and endeavor. However, it should never be overlooked that talents can be realized mostly through infrastructural basis and opulent social resources that had already been established. This essay puts emphasis on the past achievements accomplished through numerous people and commitments, thereby underscoring the strong connection between splendid innovations done by representative figures and the heritage of accumulated knowledge.

Admittedly, looking into the endeavors of some prominent figures such as those who are considered as ‘Great men’ throughout centuries and decades, their prominence in novelty appears as singular and unique. For example, Benjamin Franklin, the American polymath active as a writer, scientist, inventor, and political philosopher, is mostly known for his establishment in electric transfer and was portrayed as the quintessential self-made man who in fact had been indebted from collective knowledge and precedent achievements. In other words, we are, in many cases, exposed to numerous fortuitous stories of an inventor and a great scholar who had built up fortune out of nothing, even though, in reality, the outcome consists of a conjugation of previous studies.

However, such complexion shall be revised through fully acknowledging the fact that these genius thoughts and ideas have actually come into being due to a bountiful reference from past achievements. For instance, the german sociologist Max Weber, mainly cited as the author of <Protestantism and the Capitalist spirit>, shared similar thoughts with his contemporaries, although he is known to be the only one who had had the insight in analyzing the social structure with the collective mind. In his text, he mentions several preceding authors who had given him the clue and lens in terms of precisely interpreting the interaction among human agencies. That is, it can be said that such innovative ideas had been likely to be realized as a result of the Zeitgeist inherited by the ancestors and shared among other contemporaries. Thus, as Thomas Kuhn famously stated, revolutions in any field of endeavor can be viewed as a development by accumulation of accepted facts and theories.

Furthermore, above all the outstanding creations and inventions that are listed in our textbooks, we can easily notice that the basic materials used in everyday life such as the computer, our language, and even the space that we reside in had once been a significant innovation in the past. Without proper recognition of the historical connection between the past and the present, it is unlikely that novelty can inchoate and flourish in our times. Thus, in order to be equipped with innovative attitudes in any field of inquiry, an in-depth investigation in the historical context and bygone thought should be fully undergone.

The conclusion stands now that the awareness of precedent achievements can be helpful even in looking for trivial inquiries. History does not only give us the clue to develop creative ideas and thoughts, but also permits us a sense of modesty.