"In any field of endeavor, it is impossible to make a significant contribution without first being strongly influenced by past achievements within that field."

Experience is most important part of success. Without experience, it is similar to learn swimming by reading a book. With experience you can make a very good contribution in relevant field. Having information about past works will make future investigations more time effective. I agree with the statement that a person cannot give an remarkable contribution in the field without using its past experience. My opinion is discussed here after.

In today’s world, with advancement of science and technology there are many new field is generated in which a person can give their contribution. For each and every field, to make some new thing or to do a new research basic rules and science is same for entire technology. Right brother have invented airplane. Today's Boing-707, Airbus-380, and many other fighter plane work on same principle as airplane worked which developed by right brother. Without knowing basic concept of Aerospace Engineering a person cannot make any contribution to that field. Same thing can also applied to Automobile industries.

Furthermore, for a new invention also it is necessary to know subject in deep. With superficial knowledge of subject a person cannot give a remarkable contribution to that subject.as stated above for invention of airplane right brother may have past experience of mechanical engineering and knowledge of fluid mechanics. With combination of that two field, Right brother have invented airplane. So for today if any engineer want to design an air taxi then he must consider basic principle of aerospace engineering. Without knowing this he cannot make design of Air taxi. Being influenced by past achievements can help professionals, companies, or entrepreneur to improve their ideas and products, and their business.

In addition to this past achievement is achieved by many trial and errors. From this person can learn to do many things what to do and what not for a new invention this is he or she can know by study of past researches. This research teach true meaning of failure and also teaches about person’s strength and weaknesses.

To make a long story short, all the above mentioned reasons lead me to the conclusion that it is impossible to make a significant impact on any field of endeavour without first being influenced by past achievements within that field because past achievements are inspiration for the scientist to define a new subject for their researches.