"To serve the housing needs of our students, Buckingham College should build a number of new dormitories. Buckingham's enrollment is growing and, based on current trends, will double over the next 50 years, thus making existing dormitory space inadequate. Moreover, the average rent for an apartment in our town has risen in recent years. Consequently, students will find it increasingly difficult to afford off-campus housing. Finally, attractive new dormitories would make prospective students more likely to enroll at Buckingham."

The Director of Buckingham college think that the college should build new hostels as in upcoming years numbers of student who will get admitted t Buckingham college will be double.This argument contain many flaws and this is an illogical argument.As the director did not important information a which misguide the readers.Therefor entire argument is not convincing and unsound

In starting, The director said that enrollment is growing and based on current trend will double in next 50 years, which lead to inadequate numbers of dormitories,that are existing, for accommodating the enrolled students. This argument is illlogical.May be this is not true in upcoming 50 years numbers of student who will get enrolled to college might be decrease due to any reason. Also, the increase in number of students doesn't imply that number of dormitories required will also increase.they might stay off-Campus or the town might be their native place, which leads to no requirement of the housing service. so this argument have not proper vision and it mislead to readers.

In middle, argument mentions that the average rent for an apartment in the town has risen over past years which will make it un-affordable for students looking for housing. In an ideal market, if the average rent of apartment has increased then, the fees for the dormitories will also increase. also if average rent of apartments are high that doesn't imply that there are no apartments will low rent. also, it is possible that in certain area of the town the rent is very high whereas the rent in other areas are relatively low and cost-effective, which leads to an unclear picture of average rent in the town.

In last, author mentions that attractiveness of a dormitory will lead to increase in enrollment numbers, which in turn will create the need of more dormitories. but the basic concept, that the student will enroll in a college just on the basis of appearance of the housing services is absurd. students enroll in college based on various other factors like subjects available, job opportunities, ranking of college etc. the attractiveness of dormitories would be most likely last factor for a student while choosing a college.

In summary, the argument is flawed and therefore unconvincing. it could be considerably strengthened if the author clearly mentioned all the relevant facts and information. In order to assess the merits of certain situation it is essential to have full knowledge of all the contributing factors.