In any field of inquiry, the beginner is more likely than the expert to make important contributions.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

I do not agree with the statement for its overarching claim. Yes, there are instances where beginners “strike gold” and make significant contributions. However these are limited and can almost always be explained by chance or circumstances. In general, the experts of any field have the resources and required know how to make significant contributions. However, whether they choose to innovate or remain complacent with their past achievements is a different discussion - and one that we will conclude with.

But to begin with, there is some truth to the statement. We all have heard of that wonderkid who singlehandedly disrupted an entire industry overnight. But it’s rare. Often, these successes or contributtions can be explained by a radically new idea which garners more support. There were other social networking platforms before Facebook, like there were other search engines before Google. However both of those “beginners” came up with radically new ideas or approaches - and that is what led to their success and breakthroughs in the fields of networking and search respectively.

In other ocassions, it is just a matter of striking at the opportune moment. Netflix, the popular video streaming srvice was a beginner at online streaming. Other endavours before had tried and failed because they had misjudged the consumer’s preparedness for online streaming. However, Netflix struck at the right moment - exactly when the US audiences were getting comfortable with watching content online and when the appropriate digital infrastructure was in place.

Often, what might appear to be a beginner in a certain field, would have some prior experience or success in a related one. Apple was known for making computers and not digital music players. Hence it was “beginner” when it entered with the iPod. But Apple could use it’s years of experience and success in digital hardware and electronics and so it wasn’t really a “beginner”.

The examples above are limited to the realm of business. In other fields like STEM, the landscape is entirely different. In science and engineering, the words “significant” and “contributions” have a whole different meaning. A result is only considered to be a contribution after it has been vetted through a strict peer-review process which demands rigourous experimentation and testing. The contribution’s “significance” is evaluated by it’s impact on the field. It makes sense why high school students often don’t arrive at significant breakthroughs or contribtions - because the bar is very high. Also, it follows that experts in the field, who have access to resources for conducting experiments and the time to solve the most important problems in field, are in a better position to make important contributions. That is not to say that beginners cannot try to make contributions - their work will be subjected to the same level of scrutiny. They would have to attain a certain level of scholastic excellence in the field in order to defend the results. They would have to be well versed with the field to be able to prove novelty. And they will have to arrange for funds for conducting tests. In effect, this “beginner” would have to become an “expert”.

But does being an expert simply guarantee endless contributions? No, it doesn’t. While experts are in the right place, they also need that “stay hungry, stay foolish” attitude of a beginner. They need to avoid being complacent and consistently work towards advancing the field to be able to make significant contributions.