In any field of inquiry, the beginner is more likely than the expert to make important contributions.

Its not always true that the beginner can make better contributions than the expert. Domain experts spend a lot of time in understanding their field, know the best tatics which works in their field. they is an huge opportunity to face real time scenarios and keep improving themselves by gaining more experience.

I would like to give actual example of software engineering. software engineers learn how to plan a project, what could be best design, better programming and testing practices only through experience. As the accumulate More and more experience they tend to mature and more complete.

However experts are little over cautious and it kind of stops them from making ground breaking innovations, Whereas an newbie who is not risk aware, want to try out new ideas without thinking too much about the success/failures. This attitude in youngster gives them an edge over experts who are used to monotonous thinking.

Typical mistakes done by Freshers in and domains is they are not very clear in deciding what will work. So they start trying random ideas, if it clicks it's going to huge success, otherwise disaster and creating bad reputation for the organisation. So youngsters need professional grooming to give them maturity.

To conclude, In most cases experts contribute more with huge success rate, at times newbies do create wonders.