In any situation, progress requires discussion among people who have contrasting points of view.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

A healthy discussion is a very effective medium for solving intrinsic problems. Discussions with a group of people with diverse mindsets might be very beneficial. The prompt suggests that progress requires discussion among people who have a contrasting opinion. I mostly, agree with this and would argue that as long as there is constructive criticism the discussion is always wholesome and beneficial for progress, once the situation hits a plateau.

To begin, Contrasting opinions or views gives you an insight into what better way a problem can be tackled in order to satisfy all the criteria. It helps find a better or a more complete solution, which might have not been addressed if not for contrasting views. For instance, working in a corporate world would require you to come up with the best possible solutions for a given problem. When a company is designing an app and once the team feels complacent and discusses with people for feedback and they receive contrasting views that the interface is not very user friendly. This is definitely constructive for the app, once the team addresses these issues, the app is finer comparatively.

Most often people in the group have opinions that might not fall on the same page, Dissent in a group can lead to an alternative solution that will yield a much austere solution that is in accordance with everyone. For example, A design group working on a project might have altercations and conflicts in a group about the aesthetics or feasibility of the design. By coming together, discussing and find a solution that acceptable to all will spontaneously lead to a better product design that is appealing to a wider range of people. The group represents a microcosm of the large world with conflicting opinions.

One can argue that discussion with people can be demotivating. certainly, people have prejudice and act accordingly and most things are subjective and the attribute that one doesn’t like might be someone else favourite. Further adding certain people can not be pleased no matter what and discussing with such people might surely not lead to any progress, only dissatisfaction.

In my opinion, any opinion contrasting or congruent is still important and must not be overlooked. Meticulously looking into these opinions will bring progress to a deadlock situation.