The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Humans are social animals and we have been able to have the advancements today due to co-operation. Competition can be advantageous, but can have harmful effects as well.

It can be said that democracy stands on the foundation of co-operation between people, because, legislative assemblies allows elected representatives to discuss and debate on various topics and make better decisions. If representatives competed instead, the assembly will not be able to function.

Many software companies, developers, and programmers support open source software. Open source software allows programmers and developers to share resources and solutions for complex problems. The software also allows individuals to contribute for open source software. Many organizations such as Microsoft, Facebook, GNU foundation, etc., develop and use open source software. For example, Android, the operating system of more than 75% of the phones in the world, uses many open source softwares such as the linux kernel, the "libphonenumber" library and is itself open source.

Sense of Competition can have pervasive benefits. For instance, among students allows them to aim for better grades. However, the same behaviour can be disadvantageous. If the teams of a company, try to compete against each other to achieve goals, they may cut corners and the sense of competition can be detrimental for the company as a whole.

Hence, young people must be instilled with a sense of co-operation to prepare them for leadership in government, industry and other fields.