Laws should be flexible enough to take account of various circumstances, times, and places.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Laws should consider the positions, time, and circumstances in few cases where necessary.

A few laws should take a few circumstances into account. For example, the laws regarding the Indian national anthem state that all citizens must stand up in attentive position when the anthem is being played. A person who has fractured a leg will not be able to stand up and should not be punished for breaking the law.

When we consider criminal laws such as murder, a few murders may be committed due to self defense and could not be avoided. Even though the guilty person is supposed to be sentenced to death, the law should consider these scenarios and award a few years of prison instead.

Although the laws should be flexible, the circumstances must be validated before consideration. Recalling the murder example given in the earlier paragraph, the judge may consider providing relief only if there was no other way to avoid the murder. Moreover, A burglar should be punished as per the criminal law and must not have any concessions because he was poor and required money.

However, few laws are fundamental and do not have any exceptions. For example, there is no exception to the rule in the GRE examination that the name of the candidate must match the name in the Identity proof.

Hence, laws should be flexible but they must validate the circumstances before consideration.