the best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation not competition

It is often said that the future of a country depends on the development of young people or future generation of country. To serve country better and in order to become successful in every aspect whether it be goverment or foregin matters, industry, overall development and their preparation to sustain in any conditions is very important.

Author says that in order to prepare people for leadership in government or any industry sense of cooperation should be increased instead of competion.

well I think that a combination of both is needed in order to grow successful as a leader, although it may not work everytime. each has its own pros and cons.

From childhood, in schools students are told to compare them with other student's marks, in order to improve themselves, so this leads to a competition. Like a student who has got less marks will study with more determination in order to get more marks in next exam. But this competition should be healthy, negative competition can can severe setbacks.

In industry or any goverment organization promotion is based on your performance. Suppose 5 people are considered for a promotion, on what basis will company evaluate them ? their performace or if they have completed specified targets in less time or more effiently. although there are many other factors to judge person, but these are the important ones. so this leads to competiton. employees can compete among themselves in order to be more efficient or to give a better performance to get promotion. who is benefiting from it? obviously both company and employee. company is generating more profit because of increased productivity and employee gets his promotion.

On the other hand, if all students do a group study it will beneficial for both weak students and brilliant students. weak students will understand the concepts in less time and it will be a revision for a academically sound student. so in this case cooperation works. each time you cant get your work done by introducing competition.

suppose a firm has got a big project which cant be done alone, but rather it needs a team of 20-40 in order to successfully complete the project. if all employees work with cooperation their project will be completed efficiently.

we can also other example like a toothbrush making company says that employee which will make more brushes will be given promotion. so for getting promotion everyone will try to make more number of brushes in that cases the quality of brush can be compromised leading to loss of company's profit. so in this case if workers would have worked together more number of brushes would have been made also quality would not have been compromised.

Finally, in order to become successfull in leadership both cooperation and competition is necessary, only deciding in what cases what should be used to get our work done efficiently in very important.