The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition

The issue of wheather leadership depends on sense of cooperation or on the sense of competition can be contentious one. Leadership has a connotation that a persons ability to guide and lead a group of people to achieve their common goals by taking decisions that benefit the group of people overall not just a single or few members in the group or organization. Therefore to achieve an environment that benefit all members I sstrongly believe there need to sense of cooperation. Therefore I strongly agree with authors argument.

Firstly, The notion of leadership only comes into picture if there are group of people, an organization or other set of members who has some common goals or work on some common things so that they need to be organized or guided to achieve their goals. Thus the leadership nature is a combination of sharing, group decisions. Thus for those factors to be achieved their need to be a cooperation within members since in order to share a information the person who knows the information need to provide it willingly that is achieved by cooperation. Similarly, in order to make group decisions then the members need to disscuss the matter at hand in all possible cases and then make best decision even in this scenario the there is the need for cooperation to provide individuals point of views and then cooperatively decide a best solution or outcome of discussion.

Furthermore, leader who is supposed to have better leadership skills also need to drive the group or organization to the goal with minimal effort. This can be possible with sense of cooperation.For example, a group of scientists are working on solving a complex problem with each one is expert in their respective field then to solve a problem that requires sound knowledge of variety of fields, the respective fields scients need to have sense of cooperation to solve the problem. If they lack the cooperation because of competition then each scientist tries to solve the problem individually thus leading to decrease or possibility of problem being solved.

Opposingly some might argue that by having sense of competition than cooperation then there is possiblility to increase rate at whichwork is being carried out. This can be true in some cases but in some this is false. If work is very huge that a single person cannot perform alone.

Thus based on the above points I feel points to support overweight then to oppose. Therefore I feel the to make young people prepare for leadership they need to be initially be injected with a sense of cooperation.