As people rely more and more on technology to solve problems, the ability of humans to think for themselves will surely deteriorate.

Discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The dependency of human ability to think for themselves on technology is contentious one.There are numerous instances where some seemingly impossible tasks were solved using technology ,Therefore I believe technology does not degrade humans ability think rather it makes them efficient by serving them as tool in hand.

First, Technology has made humans life simple and easier in many different ways such as we use mobiles for communication, flights to travel to places in couple of hours that otherwise takes few days to months of journey and home automation technology that helps perform mundane tasks to perform in a single click of button.In All the above instances discussed a person saves his time ranging from hours to days , which I believe can be used to solve a number of different problems to be solved that still exists in society.Hence technology has given a really good amount of precious time to think on different issues.

Secondly, Technology creates new problems to solve. There are cases where an introduced technology created new problems or society requested changed in it’s performance which made people to think. for example when first computer was invented it can only perform certain mathematical operations more over it occupied space of moderate room , but with increasing demand from people it incorporated a number of new features in it and also it’s size drastically reduces and going further it was made to laptops which could be carried. In this human actively thinking, solving new problems or demand being faced.

In opposition, there are arguments that say human ability to think is getting degraded with use of technology, this is because there are certain people who uses technology for very simple tasks , for example some students might use calculators even for very simple arithmetic tasks making there ability to think and solve arithmetic problems less.But having said that I would not agree that problem is in technology but it is with the usage of it because if calculator has not been invented then how can one perform complex computation in limited time.

Thus in conclusion , technology is a tool that’s intentions where to make human better in performing things and to increase his ability to solve problems , but it really depends on person using technology.