The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

By instilling a sense of cooperation rather than competition, a society can prepare its young people for leadership in various fields in the best way possible.

Cooperation among its denizens is one of the pillars on which the whole structure of a society rests upon. If a leader is cooperative and is open to others, then he/she can relate with them, know there needs and most importantly will work for them with all its heart. Not only he can understand better but in such a leader people see their idol and are willing to comply with him/her at any point. People feel empowered by being in contact with such a person. Therefore, it is very necessary for its leaders to cooperate with others around them and work for the betterment of his/her society. This can only be achieved if an inate sense of cooperation has been nurtured in a leader from a young age.

Furthermore, a sense of cooperation is also important for the overall growth of the society. No society in the history has ever survived if there is an internal strife between the general public and its leadership. And there too the primary reason is the lack of candidness that people feel. People can very easily detect an air of arrogance or tyranny, and will try to revolt and overturn the ruler if that pleases them, for the sake of fighting against oppression. Also, competition promotes in its participant the audaciousness to use any unfair means to gain power even if that means to throwing others off the cliff. Hence, again bolstering the point that for good leadership a higher level of cooperation is required, which can be cultivated over time if started at a younger age.

In both of the above discussed cases, it is only the society that has to take the mantle and put forward its efforts to teach cooperation over competitiveness to its children.

Competitiveness is not always bad. This is one great method of bringing out the best among the people. A leader must be resolute, strong and firm in its decisions, and to filter out the best candidates for leadership roles we need competition.

Conclusively, competition is only good upto a point of filteration but for the smoother working of the society and production of great leaders, cooperation plays a far bigger role and therefore must be taught from early ages of a child.