The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Nowadays, as more young people being offered leadership in government, industry and other fields, there has been a heated discussion about what is the best way to prepare young people for leadership. Some may argue that there's no way better than putting them in a cooperative environment. Though a friendly environment can benefit the young, I think some competition is also needed to help them.

To begin with, in most circumstances, cooperation leads to success. Because cooperation is of vital importance in our society, we need to train the young people on how to cooperate with others. Take the industry field for example. Apple is famous for its electrical products, such as iPhone, iPad... To manufacture such a product, we need lots of companies to cooperate well. To be more specific, iPad is designed in the headquarter of Apple in America. Then, after the prototype is contrived, the paradigm is sent to different company all over the world. The CPU is manufactured in Korean. The touch screen is made in Europe. And the assembling process is completed in China. And it is many companies cooperating together that such a product can be made and gain a high reputation in the world. Young people needs to learn how to cooperate, and they will definitely face more challenges which cannot be solved only by themselves.

Competition is also needed on their way to success because competition can bring innovation and stimulate them to do better in their work. If a company has competitors, then it needs to make their product better than the competitors in order to win the preference of customer. In order to achieve this, they might need to come up with more innovative ideas about the design of their product and make efforts to increase the quality of their products. As a result, the social welfare is maximized because the companies are putting efforts in their product instead of their deceptive slogans which aim at attracting customers. Moreover, in modern society, every field has competition. It is really hard to find some work in which there's no competitors.

Some may argues that young people only needs to be prepared for competition. I strongly oppose this idea. If you put the young people in an environment where there's only competition, those green hands will easily lose their confidence because they are lacking competition experience and can be easily defeated by others.

To summarize, the society needs to instill their young people in a sense of both cooperation and competition.