A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

As the culture difference among different regions in the same nation becomes slighter, there has been a heated discussion about whether students in a nation should take the same course before their college life starts. While requesting all the students take the same course could guarantee that they all take a uniform college entrance exam, which promises equality, I still think that we need to consider more realistic circumstances.

To begin with, if a nation require all of its students to have the same national curriculum, then a countrywide college entrance exam can be held because all the students are supposed to gain the same amount of knowledge before college. Currently, in most of the nations, especially some developing countries such as China. The chance to enter a famous university (e.g. Peking University) varies a lot for students in different province. For example, in Shandong Province, you need to rank top 100 in a total amount of 300000 students in Gaokao to be admitted by Peking University. However, in Beijing, the number is 1000 in a total number of 40000 students. Obviously, if you grow up in Shandong, then it is much harder for you to get offer from those top university. The reason why this difference persists is that students in Shandong and Beijing use different textbook. Thus, if students in China learn the same knowledge during their high school, then the country will be able to provide a nationwide uniform exam.

However, this suggestion is undermined by the fact that different students may have different background, that is, their families' financial situation varies. Consider the situation where music class is obliged in the whole country. To learn music well, you need to have your own instruments to practice at home. However, due to poverty, some families may not be able to afford one. In addition, students deserve some freedom on their course selection. It is widely accepted that different people have diverse talent and interest. For instance, generally, boys are more sensitive to numbers while girls have more sensitivity to letters and words. And if you make it compulsory for a student who is interested in physics to study music, he might complain a lot in the end. Therefore, it is obviously not suggested to require students take the same course.

In my opinion, except for some fundamental course like Math, English, educators should make other courses optional. Students should be allowed to choose the courses they are interested in. As the saying goes "Interest is the best teacher". In this way, students can learn what they want to learn and their learning passion would be stimulated.

To sum up, even though requesting all the students to study the same curriculum could bring a fairer competition opportunity to students in different area, the availability of this recommendation and its efficacy still needs further analysis. A better suggestion would be making some non-fundamental courses optional.