The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station' s coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The business manager suggest that the television station should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level. To support this, he emphasizes that during the period where the late-night news program put more attention on national news, most of the complaints they received were related to the station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, he also states the fact that a local businesses that used the news program have just abandoned their contract with the station. I sympathize with the manager's intention to prevent losing more advertising revenues, but more evidence is need to help us evaluate the manager's argument.

To begin with, the manager states that most of the complaints received from viewers were about lacking coverage of weather and local news. However, we still don't have the information about the preference of the viewers. To be more specific, what if more complaints will come if they restore the time devoted to these two kind of news. For example, they can conduct a survey covering most of the audience about their preference. If the survey indicates that the station will probably receive more complaints if the restore the time, then there's no need for the station to make a change, and the manager's argument will be weakened. If, however, it turns out that most of the audience are fond of this restoration, then the manager's argument will be fortified.

Granted that most of the audience prefers this restoration, we still need to examine the reason why the local businesses canceled the contract. The station may have different competitors, and there may be several stations negotiating with the local businesses at the same time. And if one of the station can offer them a lower advertising fee and a higher viewing rate, then there's no reason for the local businesses to not sign with that station. Therefore, we need further evidence about why the local businesses canceled the contract. If it turns out that it is really because of the station are losing viewers, then the manager's argument is strengthen and the suggested actions should be immediately taken. On the contrary, new evidence revealing the local businesses is going to sign with a better station, then the manager's argument is weakened and other actions may be taken.

To sum up, while the manager's argument seems reasonable in some sense, we still need further evidence to prove that the station really need to restore the time for weather and local news.