The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company. “According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen- produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public’ s lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising.” Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company suggests that the company should allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising. To support this suggestion, he cites a report from the company's marketing department which said the number of people attending Super Screen-produced movies was fewer in last year than in any other year. He also mention that the percentage of positive movie reviews actually increased during the past year. And he concludes that the main problem lies in the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. However, even though the reasoning seems reasonable, more evidence is needed to evaluate the argument.

To begin with, the director cited a recent report from their marketing department about a anomaly in the amount of viewers they received last year. The question we need to ask is the accuracy of their report. Generally, after a movie comes out, it is firstly showed in the movie theater and then on personal device such as phone or TV. If their marketing department only counts those viewers who went to movie theater, then obviously their report's accuracy is not guaranteed. And the director's argument will be weakened. On the contrary, if it turns out that the report is of high accuracy, then the director's argument will be fortified.

Granted that the report from marketing department is accurate, we still need more information about the movie reviews. Movie reviewers might write some fake reviews sometimes. And if the movie only attract some specific kind of people, then movie reviewers who are fond of this movie will remain and give positive comment while others may just write some perfunctory review or even refuse to watch this movie. In this situation, the company will receive more positive review, but it is only because of its movie has a specific target. Thus we ask whether the movie reviewers are unchanged and whether they treat their comment seriously. If the answer for these questions are positive, then the director's suggestion should be taken. If we received a negative answer, then the director's argument is undermined.

Last, the director combines the two aforementioned arguments and concludes that the problem lies in the public's lack of awareness of good movies. However, this could be wrong if the quality of movie is in fact declining. We need more evidence to evaluate the quality of movie. For example, the company can randomly choose some audience and interview them about how they think about the movie's quality. If the result turns out that the quality of movie actually remains approximately the same, the director's argument will be strengthened.

To summarize, we can not evaluate the director's argument unless the aforementioned questions are answered.