The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

Well the claim is regarding leadersip qualities or preparation of young people for leadership in various functioning fields in our society. Leadership requires to have belief and reliance on you among the people you are leading in addition to the organisational or work related intellect. I would say both competition and cooperation are needed to be instilled for good leadership.

Competition do have many positive effects provided the person having this spirit is aware of consequences of it when being overused. It's like a tool which can be used to provide some aggression in your or the people's working whom you are leading. It's needed to exhort the people under you to compete with themselves or their difficult counterparts which in turn makes them push hard on their capabilities and strength. For a person to perform to its best and to improve on its skill, he has to push beyond what he is currently capable, for that to happen a good competition plays a rolr of catalyst. It gives that feeling which makes you beat you limitations. And when a leader is able to foment this spirit among the people under him, it's obvious they are really to going to achieve something wonderful.

Along with the competitve skill we need to push ourselves beyond our limits, we also need to a sense of cooperation. It's like a competitive spirit is a tool which will accelerate you but need to put it under control and use it where its required. That curbing requires a sense of cooperation. You really need to understand why you are accelerating in anything, what's your goal ? A leader having cooperative skill can guide you on the goals which can be helpful for the society we are thriving. He needs to have a sense that he should be controlling competition not the other way around. He needs to timely counsel his organization to the goal they have and to prevent himself and his organization deviating from it. So cooperation is like compensating factor for the energetic competition we need, which makes it's helping us use the competitive spirit at right places and in right amount.

Overall I believe cooperation along with competive spirit is really the key for any organization to achieve exceptional goals and leader has to vanguard this journey, so he needs to have a sense of using both of the qualities as an when they are needed.