The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Competition and cooperation are seen as two contradictory traits that can be instilled in youth in order to further their leadership skills. Regarding the question which one is more important, I believe that while both are crucial, cooperation should be instilled more excesivally for various reasons.

Firstly, in most of the modern societies of today, competition is all around us. We see reality competitions, our parents are always comepting for the next promotion or the next raise, and children compete amongst themselves for roles in school plays, being admitted to the soccer team and so on. Due to that, children are raised with a sense of competition anyway, and thus even if this trait is as important for leadership as cooperation, it is more naturally instilled in the younger generations. Cooperation, on the otherhand, is not instilled in the same way, and thus it is important to instill it further so as to allow the creation of future leadership in various fields.

Moreover, many rightfully argue that by cooperation, human beings can achieve much more than through personal promotion only, and this has been true from the begininng of mankind. For example, prehistoric cavemen were much more succesful in catching food when they worked together, focusing on catching one animal as opposed to each catching his own. I believe this is true to modern day society as well. A group of leaders would be much more capable of acheiving succcess if they would work together with other peers. If they compete with each other, one of them might prevaile, but even he would be less succesful than if he were to work together with others. Based on this understanding, I see cooperation as more important than competition.

Lastly, through cooperation, all sides and peers can succeed together, while through competition only one side succeeds at the expense of the others. This is the classic debate between a zero sum game, competition, and a positive sum game, cooperation. While in a zero sum game, for example a sports match, the victory of one side must mean the loss of the other, in a positive sum game, such as in the case of singing a sales contract, both sides can be satisfied and victorious simultaniouslly. I believe we should promote a society which thrives to base it's advancements through positive sum games, and since cooperation is crucial in order to that, I believe it is more important than comeptition.

Of course, competition is also important. Most significantlly, A political candidate can succeed in being elected to office only by promoting himself at the expense of his rival. In a society like ours, this is surely very important for anyone who wants to be in a leadership position. However, as abovementioned, competition is all around us, and young people today do not lack examples of it. Therefore, they are already aware of the importance of competition, and it is not crucial to further instill competition in them.