The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

In a modern world. success is always what we want to achieve, but undoubtedly the definition of success is hard to define and the way how youngsters seek for it is remain debating. The speaker assert that cooperation plays a more essential role than competition on the way making progress for success, I mostly agree this assertion. However, I have to claim that in my opinion, these two factors are not exactly immutally exclusive as an powerful leader.

It is true that without a sense of cooperation or communication, it is hard for potential leader to superior to others and achieve career success. Tasks in most fields now including science, business and politics is super tough than we suppose, so it is almost impossible for anyone to handle it by himself or herself. In this case, forming a group and absorb everyone's strength is a faster way. To be a good leader, he or she has to know how to communicate with his or her colleagues efficiently and dig out everyone's strong point. In addition to that, cooperation is also a good way to stimulate and motivate this potential leader. It is understandable that everyone would feel frustrated or even lose temper from time to time, especially when they meet difficulties. Whenever these conditions happens, the leaders' partners can play to role of close friend who know you deeply other than only colleagues.

However, sometimes it is hard to deny the role competition plays in the way to form a perfect leaders. In most situations, only comparsion with their rivals can these potential leaders find their weakness and then improve themselves. Apart from that, moderate competition is good for a group to grow and they may collapse soon without any challenge. Let's take the business area for an example, most companies who are master in one certain area would feel at ease and hard to handle any new cutting-edge theories and thus out of the touch with the world. Nokia was an multinational company on mobile phone decade ago but now it is totally replaced by apple and other smart phone giants.

Finally, I would agree that we can greatly combine the benefit brought by cooperation and competition. Since competition is always a good motivator or we say 'mirror', and cooperation is also inevitable for success leader, so in reality, most leaders just give equal attention to both these two factors. They normally encourage their partners to make and monitor their progress everyday compared to their counterparts as well as seek for help when they find it is hard to overcome a certain fault. Only in this way, can the leader wield his or her power in a best way and show the function the leader plays in a team, which is set rules and find a balance point among a team no matter how strong it is.

In conclusion, although I think cooperation is the foundation for a young leader, we still cannot overlook the importance of competition. It is impossible for me to directly compare these two factors and rank them since they are parallel in the positive form of a team and the most efficient and well-rounded way is to let the team run free under a controlled circumstance, and the leader only need to take into practice to take operation when anything emergency happens.