Educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most

compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

With the development of our society and technology, there are variety of occupations for youngsters to choose after they graduate. However, since students are still not mature enough to make a long-term vocational plan and it is inevitable for them to change their preference among their multiple personal hobbies, it seems reasonable for those educational institutions they enter like colleges or even middle schools to take the responsibility to persuade them choosing the one fit them best in order to gain career success in the future and keep the pace with the world. Although it is true these organizations have experienced staffs and well-organized statistic data so as to avoid students take any risky or rush decisions without carefully scrutiny, I may argue that students would have their own consideration and most of the time, these advice can only complement their own thoughts.

It is undoubtedly that these institutions have a variety of professional employees with vocational training who can understand the trend of labor market absolutely better than normal students. They trained even thousands of former students in previous several years so have enough experience to point out the strength of a certain student. In addition to that, most educational institutions including most prestigious universities build close relationship with related industries so they deeply understand how those new cutting-edge technologies would lead new opportunities and can gain first hand data such as employment rate or jobless rate with a certain range. For example, in computer science field, C language is the industrial standard in the past 30 years so anyone who master this language can seek a well-paid job position. However, new programming languages like java or python is gradually taking the place of C and it is predicted that they will be the dominant languages in this area within 5 years. Most students may not notice this change and since universities have better information collection, it is essential for them to emphasis the importance of the trend and force students to get rid of old style thinking pattern.

On the other hand, normally it is impossible for schools to understand all students’ strong points and research preference or sometimes they may even have no idea for new fields out of traditional curriculum, and in these cases, their advice may be counterproductive and deter students’ personal development. Some schools stick to old fashioned areas and avoid to touch anything going virus these days. Some middle schools still do not have any course related to computer even internet and programme design is so popular nowadays and so many traditional professors insist that mathematics or other scientific subjects are far more important than practical majors which is problematic according to the circumstance of modern fast speed communities. If these schools are too arrogant to absorb anything, they would out of the touch with the world soon and thus students need think twice before they really confirm these advice.

Finally, students’ own opinions and schools’ attitudes are not exactly mutually exclusive. Linking them together is a better option because students can check their decision from different aspects of views before making the final one. Sometimes teenagers decisions are too extreme while elderly peoples’ choices are too pragmatic. Students are reluctant to decide their career totally on realistic factors like income or promotion, while experienced person can tell them how to avoid obstacles and find short paths in their future. If students totally reject these advice, it is hard for them to success since they may run away from the destination so I would recommend them take these advices under consideration but still move according to their own dream.