The following appeared as a letter to the editor from a Central Plaza store owner.

"Over the past two years, the number of shoppers in Central Plaza has been

steadily decreasing while the popularity of skateboarding has increased

dramatically. Many Central Plaza store owners believe that the decrease in their

business is due to the number of skateboard users in the plaza. There has also

been a dramatic increase in the amount of litter and vandalism throughout the

plaza. Thus, we recommend that the city prohibit skateboarding in Central Plaza.

If skateboarding is prohibited here, we predict that business in Central Plaza will

return to its previously high levels."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be

answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the

predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would

help to evaluate the recommendation.

According to the letter from plaza store owner, the popularity of central plaza would be thrive again if the city government inhibit skateboarding in this area. The reason why store owner drive this conclusion is because he/she thought the popularity of skateboarding directly caused the decrease of customers and more litter and vandalism were made by these skateboarding players. Convincing though it seems at a first glance, there are still some questions remain asking to make the conclusion more credulous.

While it is true there are more skateboarding players in the plaza, we cannot confirm that these players are the most influential or even the only factor effect the running of store owner, so we need to ask some further questions to check whether the plaza is only dominated by players. Specifically, whether these players are the only group who use this plaza?

Also, how long and how often this players normally stay there compared with other users? If these answers all show that it is impossible for any other visitors or staffs to effect the running of plaza then the conclusion would be more believable, but on the other hand, the conclusion would be undermined if there are still other users since we need further research to see who affect the plaza most.

In addition to that, although there is an surge in the amount of litter and vandalism, no evidence directly determine that players are the only causer. We need to answer questions including how much litter was thrown by players and what’s the percent of damage was done by players to see is there a direct link between the dirty of plaza and behaviors of players. Only when those answers show that players are the main cause of these damage then we can insist that player would make the plaza dirtier or it is unfounded to draw that conclusion.

Granted that these skateboarding player do have a direct influence on the drop of customers of these stores, it is still too early to say that after they are totally prohibited, the popularity would come back to the highest level. Again, we do not know whether these players is the only trigger of the decrease and if not, other problems would take the priority and the popularity still cannot reach the high level. Store owners need to know something like the amount of visitors of the whole area or is there any stimulation previously before make the finally conclusion. If all these factors other than skateboard players show that it is impossible for the plaza to thrive again then the probability for the increase of customer is little, while if it shows that everything remain the same other than these skateboard players, then the prohibition of these players is plausible to a large extent.

In conclusion, it is undoubtedly that the emergence of skateboard players may affect the business. However, owners cannot make sure that this business would absolutely prosper again without these players. They need do more surveys about all different potential cause or change among the plaza before making a well-rounded conclusion.