The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

An individual's development depends largely upon the values and teachings instilled by the society in which he/she lives in. But the above mentioned claim about choosing cooperation and discarding competition for a society toprepare its young is quite an 'all-or-nothing' approach. Though I agree that a sense of cooperation will imbibe unity and 'stick-together' values, competition is not as evil as inferred from the claim.

Leadership is a quality possessed by many but exercised by some. A good leader is not only who achieves goals for the organisation or represents it but also who keeps the company bonded together as one entity. He/she should be a source of motivation for the team members who see the leader as an ideal. How does the leader's approach affects the organisation's performance? Let us see some examples.

Formation of a democratic government starts with competition. As different candidates and parties compete for maximum votes to secure their seats. But when the leader is appointed amongst all the voted, he/she should be unbiased and lay-off the previous competitve feeling to work together with one and all. Policy making in a government setup requires a lot of cooperation and this can only by exercised when each and every leader under the purview of the overall leader execute with one another in harmony. A feeling of competition derails the objective in this situation.

In an industry, competition, in my opinion, is essential. Company leaders fight for higher market share and higher progit margins which can have multiple aspects:

1. They improve upon their quality and effectiveness of the product with its process; which reduces the price and it is then beneficial for the consumers. This kind of competition is healthy competition.

2. They start adulterating their industry practices in order to reduce price or involve into plagiarism; this kind of cheap strategy is debilitating for the society and a leadership of this sorts is unacceptable.

Therfore, cooperation is an essential element in the recipe of development which creates a conducive environment for growth. But a pinch of healthy competition is also required which motivates the leader to set higher goals for the organisation, leading to higher pace of growth. All-in-all, moral values affect the way you percieve leadership. Positive values are a boon, negative ones are detrimental.