An international development organization, in response to a vitamin A deficiency among people in the impoverished nation of Tagus, has engineered a new breed of millet high in vitamin A. While seeds for this new type of millet cost more, farmers will be paid subsidies for farming the new variety of millet. Since millet is already a staple food in Tagus, people will readily adopt the new variety. To combat vitamin A deficiency, the government of Tagus should do everything it can to promote this new type of millet.

Any biological breakthrough in the world is a result of an immense amount of research which involves a lot of cost, time and energy. The results have to be coherently in the required positive direction before being introduced to be consumed by human beings. This entire process invites a lot of questions to be answered in order to achieve a better understanding and create more trust amongst the consumers.

*Is it solving the problem?

To start with, one needs to understand the basic question of whether it is really solving the problem with the amount of extra resources to be put in. The amount of extra cost borne by the government and the farmers should be worth enough against the new variety of seed.

*Should we look for alternatives?

Considering the Life Cycle Cost Analysis technique of assessing the new option, other alternatives of Vitamin A should also be compared with the given solution. The one with the lowest cost and effort wins.

*Subsidy duration?

A government is an immense organization that has to manage it resources very efficiently in order make things work. Investing a large amount of fortune in this solution can be a trade-off for other development plans which were even higher on the priority list. If the finances are not well managed, the farmers will be deprived of the subsidy which will directly affect the profits they would make in that particular cropping season. This will lead to farmers shifting back to the original variety taking the government back to square one.

*Effecting on cropping?

The new engineered crop can be different in the aspect of cropping pattern. If the time duration required for the new variant is different, it will create problems as it disrupts the cycle of other crops. If the amount of water and fertilizers required increases, then again there is a direct impact on the farmers as the cost required is increased.

All the above mentioned parameters should be properly evaluated before bringing in a change around a staple food or else there will be lots of problems.