The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company. "According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising.

The above mentioned memo from the Advertising Director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company that states the following arguments:

1. Fewer people attended Super Screen produced movies in the past year as compared to any other year.

2. Percentage of positive reviews about specific Super Screen movies have increased during the past year.

These arguments have been concluded into the fact that reviews are not reaching out to prospective viewers therefore the problem is not with the quality of the movies but due to the lack of awareness. The recommendation presented is to allocate greater share of budget next year for advertising for public reach. The recommendation made on the arguments lack reasonable arguments required for its evaluation and are discussed below.

The decrease in the number of viewers past year can be due to various reasons. This can be due to people's interest in movies falling down due to the availability of online resources or other sources of entertainment. The situation of economic meltdown can also trigger this behaviour. Answers to these questions can elucidate why did the population go down.

The increase in positive reviews as quite a baseless statement presented without facts as the credibility of the reviewers is in question. Plus the advertising director is only talking about some specific movies whose quality could be better but this does not necessarily prove that the overall quality increased.

The conclusions derived by the advertising director is a 'shot in the air' as decrease in number even after higher reviews of some movies can not only be because of lack of awareness. Another major question is regarding the price of movie tickets. If the price has gone up, the viewers will deprioritize their entertainment by movies and shift their focus to other cheaper ways.

The recommendation presented does not stand clear on what kind of advertising is the director focusing on. Can the gap of awareness be filled by advertising positive movie reviews or is there a better alternative? The above mentioned questions are to be answered for better decision making and allocation of budget.