the best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government or industry or sports or in any field is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation than competition.

I think I am mostly agree to the statement that the best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government or industry or sports or in any field is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation than competition.

The young people should be prepared to have the feeling or sense of cooperation in them which is required in leaders then only the leaders can put nation's benefit or industry's benefit before their own good. The young people if raised that way, once become leaders, will be cooperative to all other members say these are government officials, beaurocrats, top level executives or employees in case of industry or other team members in case of sports, the leaders will respect others' ideas, views, thoughts which might be completely different from their own.

For an instance, a president of the country if he/she is not cooperative, the other officials might not feel free to share their ideas or issues with president which is not good for the nation. Taking another example in case of companies, if the junior employees are not able to share their innovative ideas or the issues they are facing in company or the things which could be improved with their seniors like managers or vice presidents then it's not in the favor of the company, the employees might not feel motivated, energetic and innovative at work. The similar is the case with any other field.

On Contrary, If the leaders are coopertive, the colleagues or the members will feel free to share their problems, their ideas, solutions to improve things and to solve a problem a leader must know about the problem properly which can only be understood by being cooperative to other people of the organization even to the juniors. For an example, a manager of the company is always cooperative to his/her juniors and consider their interns have some ideas which is completely different than their work, so the manager can listen to interns' ideas and can utilize the idea to improve other things which even interns might not have thought of.

Henceforth, the leaders are required to be mostly cooperative than competitive, the only place where the sense of competition is required is while playing a game on the field in sports, for nation's economy development in case of government, etc. which is comparatively very less needed than cooperation whose need and advantage is much more than competition.