the chief benefit of the study of history is to break down the illusion that people in one period of time are significantly different from people who lived at any other time in the history. Do you agree or disagree?

The author of the issue highlights that the major benefit of the study of the history is that people can become familiar with differences in different periods. Due to the controversial nature of this question, there is not a general argument on this issue. However, the popular sentiment to which I vehemently cling is that with the study of the history nothing could jeopardize our welfare and it helps us not to make same mistakes as our predecessors did. The underlying aim of this essay is to put forward some cogent reasons to shed light on a number of issues in this framework.

To commence with, the history is our best teacher owing to the fact that it contains loads of useful information that any generation could rely on and take the advantage of a study of the history. Broadly speaking, information provided by history can provide fertile ground for people or a nation to gain a conspicuous success. As a palpable example, happenings in the war are really informative and the government could refer to the history of wars to find out what were the causes and effects of the previous wars and stop a new war from arising. By studying the history, not only can a society get informed of unpredictable events in near future but also can fortify the infrastructure of the country. To elucidate more on this issue, hardly can any nation achieve success without the study of the history due to the fact that history helps us not be gullible toward any event.

Another equally salient point in corroborating my stance is that study of the history could help us realize development and improvement during different generations. If we take a minute to ponder over it, vast majorities of countries suffered from the paucity of technology like the internet, public transportation, education and so forth. But, history will allow us to discern how these technologies have taken place and penetrated every single facet of our lives since previous generations. It can be deduced from a combination of breadth of coverage and depth of detail that study of the history not only can improve and enhance our well-being but also can patronize the society to make a progress day in day out.

However, what was alluded to above can't be overgeneralized to all context. Alongside with the innumerable benefits it has, indisputably, a study of the history might have nothing to do with people's lives. Although the history is an inseparable part of our lives, refer to the history might not be effective enough to give a hand to people to confront obstacles. Arguably, human beings have to think about their future lives and make a sound decision and a plan, not to do something wrong in their future lives. That being so, a study of the history and neglect the future might be the sheer waste of time. However, it was a story in a nutshell; actually, there are more reasonable grounds that can lend weight to my personal perspective.