The chief benefit of the study of history is to break down the illusion that people in one period of time are significantly different from people who lived at any other time in history.

The author claims that the main advantage of studying history is to remind people that our society is not different from the past. In my view, although there are many events today are similar to the past, however, the author overly generalizes it and ignores other aspects of history.

I concede that many aspects of human beings perpetuate to modern society from the past. There are a wide range of foibles and vulnerabilities that coexist in contemporary world and the ancient time can be identified. For example, humans are greedy, which is the root cause of disasters. As we can see in the human history, looting and wars reoccur in every generation, and there is no exception of our age.

However, by comparing today’s society with the history, we are able to highlight a lot of improvements that we humans today surpass previous generation, from individual to the international scope. In the ancient time, there exist a lot of prejudices, that is, woman faced discriminations, low social status, and other unfair treatments. Nowadays, social groups have changed greatly: females now enjoy more rights and more job opportunities, also, people now, to large extent, recognize woman are no different with men, and thus treating each other equally. In the global scale, many institutes and organizations are established, helping human not to recidivate our faults in the past. For example, the Union Nation founded after world war commit to stop the invasion and warship of countries. World health organization takes responsibility to stop pandemic in the global world, which is one of scourges in human history.

Furthermore, we cannot ignore other things that the history brings to us. History helps us find our roots, remind us where we came from. The history of linguistic helps us trace back to the source of our languages, know how they connect with each other and how they evolve over time. The history of a nation remind citizen how their ancestors establish their countries and what are their values. Without the history, we are merely a flower without roots, floated on shaky bases.

To sum up, history events do recur again and again, due to foibles that we humans possess. However, it is too assertive to claim it the only goal and benefit of history. Excepting it, we can find the disparity between today and the past, and we did made a lot of progresses. Also, other purposes that history serve need to be take into account.