Claim: In any field — business, politics, education, government — those in power should step down after five years.

Reason: The surest path to success for any enterprise is revitalization through new leadership.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

The authors claim is that in any filed people in power should step down after five years . The problem with this claim is that five years is too small a period for a leader to bring about a significant change in the system . A short period of leadership also leads to instability which hampers the growth of growing businesses of countries .

For example in politics a five year term is too short as most of the time is spent in getting accustomed to the system . By the time leader gets accustomed to the system he has very little time remaining to make an actual impact . Policies and schemes are also formulated in a haphazard and precipitous manner which is detrimental to the growth of the country . also by the end of his term the leader starts loosing power as his subordinates realize that he is not going to be available for the next term . this effectively reduces an already short term of an leader and practically makes it impossible for the leader to have a positive impact .

Not having an restriction on the length of the term leader is also not a good idea as it effectively creates a monarchy . this singularity in leadership creates a group of extremely powerful people who cannot be held accountable to any of the laws .

it breeds monotony , there is no evolution in the ideologies which ultimately leads to stagnation and then irrelevance .

one way to eschew these problems is by increasing the tenure from five to ten years . this gives the individual enough time to actually make an significant and meaningful impact . it also prevents the chances of a monarchy in which one person has total control . this ten year tenure gives us the best of both worlds .