Claim: In any field — business, politics, education, government — those in power should step down after five years.

Reason: The surest path to success for any enterprise is revitalization through new leadership.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

A common characteristic that everyone would think about when a memorable leader comes to their mind is a long period of leadership. Examples of this are Winston Churchill, with his ten-year period as a president, or Mahatma Gandhi, with his long-term pacifist activism against British colonialism. These two cases were presented as the beginning of my dissertation, in order to argument that, from my point of view, power should not be caducous, but instead long-lasting.

First of all, it needs to be highlighted that the claim in which this statement is based is the corruption that normally obscures long-lasting political systems. It is undeniable that no human is a flawless being, and errors characterize us in many occasions. As well as this, there are many psychological studies that confirm that power can be highly addictive. Thus, it is understandable that some people, in order to maintain their leadership, are keen on manipulating elections, or committing immoral acts. However, as I mentioned in the first paragraph, there are many cases in human history that prove that this claim is not applicable to everyone on earth, as there are people who can evade the temptation of becoming corrupt.

In my opinion, revitalization of a system can take place without having to change its leader. An annual reunion to reconsider all the measures that are being taken, and the use of brainstorming techniques to generate innovative ideas can be a valid solution. This approach is used by many successful companies, such as Tesla or Google, with astonishing results. Considering this, it seems useless to systematically change the leader of a company in a fixed time, as an alternate solution may be hugely satisfying.

Further emphasizing on my point of view, the leader of a company usually is, as well, its visible head. In the case of countries, he usually represents the ideology and values that people from there share, so his presence is vital to maintain the union of the population. From these two examples, it can be inferred that leadership, rather than implicating exclusively a person which has power over money or other people, represents abstract concepts, such as feelings, that could not be generated by another person. For this reason, I think that the scheduled change of a leader would bring a huge drawback, rather than benefits in terms of revitalization.

In conclusion, I am convinced that leadership is directly related to long-term power holding, and, due to this, a scheduled change of government or command is prejudicial for systems. In order to revitalize them, there are other ways that do not involve a change in power.