Claim: The best test of an argument is its ability to convince someone with an opposing viewpoint.

Reason: Only by being forced to defend an idea against the doubts and contrasting views of others does one really discover the value of that idea.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with

the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

Naturally, each individual has different perspective toward each subject. Controversial subjects, especially, have opponents and proponents that not necessarily could convince each other in the case of lacking strength. I agree with the claim and the reason that an argument with its ability to convince the opposing views would be tested well.

First of all, to be able to defend an idea against the opposing perspectives, the argument should be solid and logical. When the author of an argument, for instance, try to answer the opponent’s questions, he must have deep knowledge about the central issue and the inferior details. Otherwise, he could not convince the opponents and defend his point of view. Consider a graduate student as an example. When he researches about his Master’s thesis, he encounters many contrasting views and he should prepare himself and his thesis to be able to defend against those opposing views. If he fails to convince any contrasting view point, his Master’s thesis will not be accepted as an outstanding research in that field. Apparently, the professors who observing his endeavor, evaluate his research and thesis based on his ability to convince the viewpoints that are opposite of the student’s perspective. Therefore, this is the best test of that content.

Some people might argue that there are too many arguments in the world which are valuable without having the ability to convince the opponents. However, by examining deeper to those arguments, we will notice that they have failed to provide profound information or evidence to become such a comprehensive argument that elaborate more about the opposite views. For instance, the argument that Galileo had about the earth that is not flat, failed to provide enough evidence to convince the church and the opponents. If he had sufficient proves such as the pictures of the modern telescopes, then the opponents would have been agreed with him.

On the other hand, this claim needs a modification to be more complete. It’s not correct that each argument that could not defend against the contradictory ideas, holds no value. In the case of religious debates, each group believes in their own faith. If someone Catholic does not convince with a Muslim’s argument, it does not mean that Islam has lower merit than Christianity. Religious arguments are presented in the first place to be upheld by faith and not reason. Accordingly, this believes should not be contradicted because it would lead to religious tensions, and as we witness these days, there are lots of religious wars that have no winner.

All in all, an argument should be strong enough, and full of solid evidence, to be able to convince the contrasting viewpoints. Therefore, it will be a valuable argument that will be used in every sophisticated research and will be referred many times by scholars.