Scientists and other researchers should focus their research on areas that are likely to benefit the greatest number of people.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position

We are living in the heyday of technology, and we owe the scientists and researchers because of all their endeavors. It’s correct that it will be more profitable for most of people, if scientist conduct their studies on the areas that will help people to have better lives. However, scientists should follow their interests as well.

To begin with, there are lots of scientific breakthroughs in the history that in the time of their research, the researchers would have not thought that their outcome will profit the majority of people. For instance, Galileo Galilei used his telescope to discover the sky. He argued that the earth rotates the sun and not vice versa. In that time, he did not think that his discoveries will change the future’s perspective toward the astronomy. Many astronauts have followed his discoveries until today that humans nurture the dream of living on Mars. Each researcher should follow his passion and interest to reach the achievements. Otherwise, if an area is likely be profitable for most of people but is not attractive for a researcher, it’s possible that he gets bored and reluctant to continue the research.

On the other hand, considering the areas that possibly benefit most of people would motivate the novice researchers to reach an achievement that could help people to have easier and healthier lives. For example, in the Isfahan University of Technology (IUT), in the graduate programs, supervisors encourage students to choose fields that their research could solve a problem in the industries. Students are told that if their research helps the issue from the industries to be solved, they will have an opportunity to be hired in those industries. This encouragement helps the graduate students to put their efforts on their research to reach a solution or an advancement.

Some might argue that it will waste of time and resources if scientist focus on the areas that do not benefit the majority of people. This idea has some merit on the surface. However, any research’s outcome will ultimately benefit some areas of science. It’s like a chain. Other scientists will continue the previous ones’ work and finally they will reach a breakthrough. Each scientist that work on a meticulous area in NASA will help the whole group of scientists to achieve their desire goals. In the future, it will be clearer that this research will be beneficial for humankind as a whole not just a few.