Claim: Colleges and universities should specify all required courses and eliminate elective courses in order to provide clear guidance for students.

Reason: College students—like people in general—prefer to follow directions rather than make their own decisions.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

Elective courses in the educational system has always been a controversial issue among teachers, students and experts. Some may claim, to eliminate all elective courses to provide easy follow directions for students. But I strongly disagree with this idea for three reasons and I will explain them now.

First of all, a student who study in specific major may like some other major as a second choice and prefer to have some additional information in this issue. Elective courses could help them to get additional knowledge on that. It helps to broaden their horizens and satisfy their needs. This additional information could clarify their prospective view and may lead to changing major or choosing sub major in university.

A wise stodent could select some elective courses that could help her in finding job in the future. By earning some knowledge that requisite for job market, she could improve her chance to find appropriate job with reasonable wage. For example, an computer engineer could select a course related to control project to improve her ability to managing her job and mentioning this ability in the resume could be helpful to persuade employer to choose her.

finally, elective courses could help student to find out their abilities better. For example, an civil engineer who enthusiast about agriculture, by study an elective courses may find out his ability in agriculture is more than civil so, he may decide to change his major and syudy in a major that he would be more succesful than former field. Thus, selective courses may change lives and jobs of students due to ability to evaluate their ability in other fields.

In conclusion, some argue that elective courses may force strees for students due to lack of information and uncertainity to select appropriate course, but consultants could easily solve this problem. I strongly belive elective courses could be beneficial for students and could help them to find out thier abilities.