Claim: Even though young people often receive the advice to “follow your dreams,” more emphasis should be placed on picking worthy goals.

Reason: Many people’s dreams are inherently selfish.

In any generation youngsters are energetic and analytic. They have capacity to change the fate of the nation. If such a power is misplaced by characteristics like selfishness, unawareness their life will be miserable. The famous leader Dr.APJ Abdul Kalam said a quote on dreams. The essence of it is dreaming is good and achieving that dream is the best goal. When young people are advised to follow their dreams as said there are some limitations to be understood. Due to their lack of knowledge or misguidance or some other reason, youth are not piking worthy goals.

When a student is asked about his/her goal in which his/her attitude or in which the goal is unequal to his/her capacity, they may not be successful. Ultimately, they must compromise their goal at some point of time. To rephrase the goal or to change it they would not have any capacity left to fulfill them. That is why forming a right goal is very much important. Every work must be analyzed both in positive and negative directions. For example a student whose height is 5.8" and keeps his goal to strike the Wimbledon, may not be practical because to be eligible for that game his height must be at least 6".

One more illustration where young people are found selfish is at their career. If a person's goal is to crack a interview which is a dream come true for him/her, uses shortcuts to gain the job, is not an appropriate goal. In this path to gain the job he/she might undergo many wrong decisions which ultimately get them into the job but the others will suffer due to them. May be they call it as intelligence but they forget that intelligence turns to selfishness if they try to hurt or they hurt others by their actions.

Therefore, to conclude youngsters must follow their dreams but must keep in mind about the pros and cons of the dream. These dreams must not degrade them but must help them to go beyond their dream. Youth always break many of impossible things. However they must not be selfish while achieving it.