Claim: Even though young people often receive the advice to “follow your dreams,” more emphasis should be placed on picking worthy goals.

Reason: Many people’s dreams are inherently selfish.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim AND the reason on which that claim is based

A great person once said "dreams are not which you get in your sleep;But are those which doesn't let you sleep". this implies that simply thinking about something as a dream or a fancy wouldn't be fruitful. we should strive towards achieving the same with hardwork and relentless determination. dreams are the key things which can make the difference between just getting through life or leading a life with meaning , striving to achieve something.

The above claim states that simply having goals is not enough, we will have to make sure that they are meaningful and worthy. this can imply that one should always try to pick goals which are striving for the greater good of the society that they are living in. Breaking beyond the barriers of setting goals which are self-centered and reaching out to take up efforts to achieve a nobler cause should be the criteria. it is necessary that people should consider the human aspects of any issue before thinking on practical and the mechanical side of it. this thinking would ultimately sensitize them towards trying to lead life which is much more considerate and humane.this positive and broader approach of thinking will lead to people going beyond their own selfish desires and dreams.

Every person in this world is inherently responsible for making it a much better place than what they were brought into, before leaving it. Supporting the need of reaching out beyond one's own self and understanding other humans and their needs on the whole, will be helpful in building a better society. For people who want to help, taking up roles which have the power of changing someone's fate by fulfilling their needs is essential. people shouldn't be forced to take up things rather encouraged to come forward voluntarily to do what it takes to change the world. If everyone would just be thinking about them selves then it wouldn't take much time for the world around us to crumble like pack of cards. helping each other should be what we dream on along with helping thyself.

However, an extremely altruistic attitude without thinking about what one should do to satisfy his own needs will also not lead to any growth. this attitude, will ultimately in the wrong run, will lack the necessary drive nad direction which is essential to help others. people who lose sight and control of what their life is shaping into which can mean denying one's own necessity will be destroyed.this attitude of preaching on what is right to all people without considering the circumstances that people find themselves in, would definitely be taking the extremity which ultimately ends up destroying much more than what was actually going on. There should be a perfect balance achieved between taking up personal necessities as dreams and considering the effect they can have on the society in general in order to live a life which is balanced and happy.