Claim: Even though young people often receive the advice to “follow your dreams,” more emphasis should be placed on picking worthy goals.

Reason: Many people’s dreams are inherently selfish.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim AND the reason on which that claim is based.

The above topic emphasizes on the idea whether young people should follow thier dreams or whether they should focus on picking worthy goals.Both the arguments has it's merits but I feel that young people should follow their dreams as it will enhance their career as they will be living a happy life and will have no regrets.

Firstly, I feel that if people don't pursue the career in which they are interested then they will not be happy and they will face a lot of problems in their day to day life. People will have to struggle a lot of they end up in a field which has great worth but is not of their forte.It will not make a person happy rather make his time difficult as will have to struggle a lot in his life. For example, if someone is an amazing wildlife photographer but because of family pressure he has to enroll in engineering will ruin his career as he will be doing things which he is not interested for life long.A person may earn plethora of money in engineering but he wont be able to sleep at night happily as he is not following his passion.

Secondly, I feel that if a person opts for something which has worth but is not of his forte then there are high chances that he won't be able to focus well on what he is pursuing.Because of lack of focus he won't land up in becoming the best in whatever he does.A person won't be able to give his best if he doesn't follow his passion which will further hamper his overall performance.Because of less interest a person will become torpid and there are high chances of him getting indulged in bad activities.For example , if a person is interested in dancing and wants to select dancing as a career but because Web development has more scope than dancing and he takes up taking web development.Now both the fields are totally different so he won't be able to give his best shot in web development sue to lack of interest because of which he will tend to ruin his entire career.

Therefore if a person ends up selecting his dream as a profession then he will be able to achieve great success as he will be very much dedicated towards his work.It will also help him live a healthy and happy life.On the contrary if he ends up selecting a profession which has great worth but is not his dream the won't be able to focus properly and end up regretting for his whole life