Claim: Governments must ensure that their major cities receive the financial support they need in order to thrive.

Reason: It is primarily in cities that a nation's cultural traditions are preserved and generated.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

Majority of people in any country do live in cities and require large financial support to support their living.However the nation's culture and traditions are never preserved or generated in cities.Yes, different sections and communities of people do exist in the cities which causes different cultures to be brought together, but doesn't preserve the nation's traditional culture.

To begin with,the primary aim of cities all over the world is to support a country's development economically and financially rather than to preserve the culture and tradition of the nation. Major cities all over the world are highly self developing ,as major businesses and companies invest in the cities to expand their market.This leads in major growth of the country without any support from the government.This may lead to large number of jobs and employment opportunities thereby causing different cultures to come together but doesn't strengthen the traditional culture.

Also most of the countries' tradition and culture lies in the grass root level that is in the towns and villages.Development of any country on how well the villages or towns of the particular country perform.If the rural areas perform well, it in turn causes the urban areas to prosper thereby developing the country.So the governments must ensure that villages and towns are provided with ample financial aid and support . This is particularly true in countries like India where agriculture forms the backbone of the country.Agriculture is practiced at large in the rural areas and not the cities which does not require the government to provide major funds to cities.

Major cities are the last place one should expect culture and tradition to be preserved.Moreover it is definitely not the reason for governments to provide funds.Even if the governments do provide funds to the major cities it would not be that effective as the cities are self developing and do not require any help.