Claim: Governments must ensure that their major cities receive the financial support they need in order to thrive.

Reason: It is primarily in cities that a nation's cultural traditions are preserved and generated.

Major cities are economic hubs of every nation. Uplifting of them plays major role in a nation's developement. These cities require and consume more resources, which needs financial support. However the reason stated to give them more funds because they are most important in preserving the cultural traditions is vague and indefensible.Hence I agree with the statement but not with the reason.

A major city has many industries and government organization, colleges etc. Hence, many people live there. Clearly they need more financial resources. The infrastructure such as roads and suage which can sustain a large population needs more sophisticated and large scale systems that may not be need be needed elsewhere. Also there are problems which are only pertaining to cities of large scale such . All these require more funds from the government.

The reason given is right, but plays a less significant role in claiming more funds. A country's tradition is spreaded in entire country.Places of historical importance are everywhere in the country. Actually, major cities are places where people come from different parts of country come mix together. Many people living the cities have actually forgotten the old ritual and culture. While people living in rural area still follow traditional rituals. In order to preserve to preserve culture actually more attention to these people should be given.

Financial support specifically alloted to preserve culture given to cities can serve well due the large population of the cities. However, the population in rural areas still outnumber the population in cities in many countries. Many a times rural population and areas play more significant role in preserving culture. Certain traditional jobs and tradition are only found in rural areas. Alloting funds to cities and not to these areas can actually fail to achive it;s actual purpose.

In conclusion, if financial support is specifically given to cities to preserve culture can have good effects but is still inadeqate for that purpose. And in many cases actually rural areas are more eligible place to recieve such funds.