Claim: Governments must ensure that their major cities receive the financial support they

need in order to thrive.

Reason: It is primarily in cities that a nation's cultural traditions are preserved and generated.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim

and the reason on which that claim is based.

The author demanding from the government to ensure the financial support of the major cities. This demand priority for the cities where the cultural traditions are granted. This demand is poorly supported, as not promising reasons are stated by the author. However the cultural traditions are important to be saved and used to attract more tourists to a city. The following paragraphs show a discussion about the author’s demand weak reasoning.

The author assumed that cultural traditions are the most promising filed for economic growth of the major cities. For example, there are many cities all over the world and even whole countries where are not depending on the toursism and traditions for their economic growth, such as Germany where the industry is the miain economic growth factor, arabian gulf countries where their economic is based on petroleum industry.

Furthermore, major cities economic need to be based on various promising fields such as industry and agriculture. To demonstrate the government should invest in more than a filed which success is granted, not only tourism field.

On the other hand, there are many cities all over the world that depends on tourism.for instance, Luxor city, where the Egyptian economic gets a powerful push from the tourism income. Some other governments working on improving their traditional historical cities tourism, for example turkey. Turkey government spreading a low priced advanced programs to attract more tourists and enhance their economy.

Finally to conclude the demand evaluation, the government shoud invest their money in the promising fields for the economic growth, which would be promising based on evidence and stuies. The author needs to show more evidence proofing how much financing the cultural traditions would enhance the cities economic.