Claim: Knowing about the past cannot help people to make important decisions today.

Reason: The world today is significantly more complex than it was even in the relatively recent past.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based

The author claims that historical knowledge from past events is not helpful for today`s life standard; because, current life style is more complex and complicated than past`s. However, this assumption cannot be accepted as it stands, since it rests on number of presumptions all of which can be challenged in one way or another. I am going to go into further details in this essay to advocate my objection.

The first considerable reason that persuade me to be disaccorded with this assumption is its inadvertence to chain between the current`s activities and the past`s processes. It is lucidly explicit that all today`s program and knowledge are shaped based upon the past`s achievements. For example, in the economic states most of assumptions and guesses that render by economist are based upon the past data, like graphs about incomes and profits of last ten years is one of the apt ways to make decision for next year; although; it can be some difference among the now and the previous ten year`s methods, but there is undeniable relationship between now and past.

Another significant reason that persuades me to be against with this premise is the benefits that we can task from past. Undoubtedly, most of the current`s processes are formed based on the past`s achievement; although, the speed and pace of today`s progresses are incomparable with the past`s. However, if we want to accelerate these processes and guaranteed the success, it will be essential to have a chain with past. In this case, their failure or success enlighten our path and guide us.

On the other hand, even assuming that there is no problem with the presumption, and there are some events from past that are trivial for today`s progress; like world war second or Hitler Nazism; maybe in the first glance it seems acceptable that there are not useful for today`s decision or process; while, if they will be considered as a lesson from past which can guide us to distinguish difference between the democratic regime and autocracy. They can be indicated as effective lessons from past.

In the final analysis, the author`s claim cannot be as an utter accurate because, as it was shown in the body paragraphs above, it depends on a number of assumption each of which is suspicious that makes the claim unconvincing. The recommendation can only be accepted if the blemishes already referred to are all wiped out.