Claim: Nations should suspend government funding for the arts when significant numbers of their citizens are hungry or unemployed.

Reason: It is inappropriate — and, perhaps, even cruel — to use public resources to fund the arts when people's basic needs are not being met.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

The statement contends that the government should tighten their funding for aesthetic while their citizens' basic needs are not fulfill. And I partially agree with the statement. The basic needs is important for people, however, the importance of art should not be ignored.

First of all, the government duty is to give citizens a better life and people should get what they need in daily life. How could a nation maintain its value if their citizens are searching for food everyday? And while people struggling for their life continuously, how could they be calm and follow the regulation of their country? To elaborate, the British research demonstrates that the unemployment rate of an area directly lead to the numbers of criminals. How could a nation provide their children with a insecure environment? A country should care about the basic necessity for human being.

Nevertheless, the funding in arts can solve the issue of unemployment rate surely. A national museum or gallery can improve the impression of the nation, and attract tourists to appreciate the paintings or collections. The construction of museum can bring value out of the boundary in art industry. We may need workers for constructing buildings, waiters serving in coffee shop inside the gallery, guides for introducing the masterpiece and artists for creating design. The industries of architectural, service and art can be beneficial from the government's funding in art.

The statement emphasized on the importance of the basic needs of citizens. However, the advantage of developing art industry should not be underestimated because the poverty can be solved in different approach. That is the reason why I only agree half of the claim.