Claim: Nations should suspend government funding for the arts when significant numbers of their citizens are hungry or unemployed.

Reason: It is inappropriate — and, perhaps, even cruel — to use public resources to fund the arts when people's basic needs are not being met.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

Unemployment or poverty is nowadays one of the most critical issues in the world. People are everyday dying because of poverty as they are unable to afford any food. Unemployment issues are also rising in every country as people are not skilled enough to get a job or start a business. The prompt recommends that instead of funding for arts and other investments government should feed or help their citizens to get a healthy lifestyle. I mostly agree with this statement and argue that government should invest their funds properly because of the following three reasons.

To begin with, due to growth in the population of the countries and heavy dependence on technology like mobile phones, computers and robots, people are spending unnecessary amount of money. Mostly to show-off stuff people are spending huge amounts on unnecessary things and have no money to save. Therefore, in difficult times when they get unemployed people have no money to eat also. People do not have proper knowledge about how to manage a healthy lifestyle so the government instead of funding artistic works should spend their money to educate people properly from their childhood. For instance, they should launch various programs like "Educating India for a better Future" where they teach properly about everything and make the people skilled enough so they can get a job or start a business later in their life. Public resources should be spent properly for the development of the country instead of wasting it on artistic works.

Secondly, the government once in every 2 years should do a market survey with the help of which they can determine how many people are hungry or unemployed. Due to the massive population everyone cannot get a job, so the government should introduce entrepreneurship programs and make people not only to seek jobs but to create jobs. Instead of spending the money in arts, nations should get together and make an outline for the next 10 years how they are going to change their country with the help of proper investments. They should create a budget plan which checks not only the GDP but various funding programs for institutions to develop the country and overall personality of individuals.

Thirdly, as it is quoted "There are always two sides of the same coin". Government basically does its funding in arts or monuments because it attracts tourism from other countries. Every year tourism is a million dollar industry. People from foreign country try to visit countries like India every year for it's natural beauty, beautiful mythological period and weather. Nations make huge boost in their economy due to this and GDP of the country also rises. But in the end all the money that the nation makes should be invested in the better development of the country. On paper a nation could be successful but real success can be determined only by the happiness of the people in that country.

To conclude with, as we have seen both the perspectives it can be said that overall development of the country, employment and health of the individuals is the most important thing. Everyone has the right to have the basic needs. But the government needs money to function so there are no easy answers. Hence, the government should formulate a plan in which there is proper balance between funding in arts and funding for the better future of the individuals in which they are employed and have all their needs fulfilled.