People's attitudes are determined more by their immediate situation or surroundings than by society as a whole.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Right attitude is one of the most important aspect which determines that the person will be successful or not. Our attitude is shaped throughout our life due to various factors like immediate situation, surroundings, friends and society as a whole. The prompt recommends that people's attitude are determined by their current situation or surroundings rather than by the society as a whole. I mostly disagree with this and argue that our attitude is determined by the society as a whole rather than out current situation for the following three reasons.

To begin with, as it is said "Attitude of a person determines his character". Different people have different attitudes which are mostly moulded because of the society. For instance, suppose a person has very optimistic attitude. So even when he fails in a subject or sports he will take this as an opportunity to learn what he did wrong and would not repeat the same mistake again next time. This is called the right attitude in life. On the other hand if a person is pessimistic if he fails at anything he would get depressed and can take extreme measures. So having right attitude in life is necessary. No one is born with optimism or pessimism. These are shaped by our society. Immediate situation or surroundings often help the person to stay happy and find optimism in his failures also, like parents, friends and the people close to that person will help him to grow but society gives him a loser tag, due to which the child who was very happy and joyous in the beginning, became pessimistic and took extreme measures, hence his attitude changed due to the society.

Secondly, if a person has fierce attitude and talks rudely with everyone, this attitude was developed because of his constant frustration with work or studies. Suppose his immediate surroundings that is home or his surroundings like the place where he lives and where he grew up can mould the attitude of a person to a certain extent but in the end society plays the major role in shaping his attitude when he grows up. As they quote "Either you win or you learn", this is the right attitude, but one negative emotion outpowers all the positive emotions. So if the person is calm and patient throughout his childhood due to this immediate situation and surroundings, but when he grows up if someone comments negative about him he could get frustrated and his attitude eventually changes.

Further, now as they say "Every situation has two perspectives". A situation is two sides of the same coin. In some cases, immediate situation and surroundings can be more impactful in determining the attitude of the person than the society. For example, suppose if a boy is really poor and is always mistreated due to his colour, race or ethnicity from the beginning, he lives in place where there are no proper facilities and everyone around has no perspective to grow so in this case his surroundings and current situation will impact the attitude of the person in a greater extent than the society. Childhood determines the whole life of a person and if it is not proper then it is very difficult for the person to become successful.

Of course, there are many more factors to decide success, but right attitude and confidence are the key. As we have analyzed both the sides of the argument we can see always there are pros and cons to every situation, so there are no easy answers. But society as a whole can have a lot of impact in deciding the attitude of the person, so we should always learn from our mistakes, keep growing and hustling.