Claim: Researchers should not limit their investigations to only those areas in which they expect to discover something that has an immediate, practical application. Reason: It is impossible to predict the outcome of a line of research with any certainty. reason

Researchers plays major role in any new development, any new finding. I Partially agree with given claim suggest that researcher should not limit their investigation to only those area in which they expect they expect to discover something that has an immediate practical application.

Research is very much broad term, involving an different section which are scientific research, industrial research, medical research. in almost all area it has separate section. In Scientific research area, their are simultenously project goes from an years and years. Person or researcher have all perspect of view in all direction. one can't restrict or limit himself for specific research who have immediate practical application.No doubt an every one wan't output immediate instead of waiting. Their are number of subtopic or area which may need more research for development. so bonding one self it's not lead to correct output, instead it also stop thinking level of mind to view in different manner.

Not only scientific research, their also example in industry research.Let's suppose an industry made some part for xyz company, they produce part with an efficiency, but lagging in accuracy. so it may affect on profit which an company overall expenses depends. Thinking to produce an part within certain days made loss to company. research or idea to overcome the loss which may benefit the company. so, in an limited area you have some less option, instead if you number of option then at same time one must have different option.

Come to words, reason suggest that It's impossible to predict the outcome of a line of research with any certainty. I partially disagree with claim. so once have an prediction, because if person follow some procedure, had previous data, so he may predict what output helds in future. It's again prediction, on the basis of previous occurrence of theory.

In any research field, the output which ever got after number of attempt, it's not fame directly there are some trial and error procedure done. The various option to be taking into consideration,so that output may result show. at each and every time the mistake that previously made can be corrected and then think towards complition of output.

To sum up with all, research is wider area, one can't restrict or limit himself for specific practical application. and number of attempt may bulid researcher mind more brave for predicting an output.