The following appeared in the summary of a study on headaches suffered by the residents of Mentia.

"Salicylates are members of the same chemical family as aspirin, a medicine used to treat headaches. Although many foods are naturally rich in salicylates, for the past several decades, food-processing companies have also been adding salicylates to foods as preservatives. This rise in the commercial use of salicylates has been found to correlate with a steady decline in the average number of headaches reported by participants in our twenty-year study. Recently, food-processing companies have found that salicylates can also be used as flavor additives for foods. With this new use for salicylates, we can expect a continued steady decline in the number of headaches suffered by the average citizen of Mentia."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The following appeared in the summary of a study of headaches suffered by the residents of Mentia. Author draw conclusion that, using salicylates as a flavor additives for food, we can expect a continued steady decline in the number of headaches suffered by the average citizen of Mentia. There are several assumption made by author which need an specific evidences.

Firstly, author made valid point that, salicylates are members of the same chemical family as aspirin, a medicine used to treat headaches. After that author mention that many foods are naturally in salicylates, for the past several decades, food processing companies have also been adding, salicylates to food as preservatives. Author need specific evidence of result after addition of salicylates to food. Even though it's suitable for preservation but it has several disadvantage which harmful to human being. Author need to survey of current usage of salicylates in food processing companies and its quality.

Secondly, author states that the rise in the commercial use of salicylates has been found to correlate with steady decline in the average number of headaches reported by participants in our twenty year study. Author need to check survey about how many of participants reported in twenty year study. It might possibility that they have physically and mentally fit so they reported an decline in headaches problem.

Thirdly, author mention that recently food processing companies have found that salicylates can also used as flavor additives for food. With the new use for salicylates, we can expect a continued steady decline in the number of headaches suffered by the average citizen of Mentia. Author need to check those who are suffering from headaches problem are really want add salicylates as flavor in food. In addition to this, if salicylates add as flavor whether it really decline in headache problem. Author need to find report showing person who add salicylates in food and really had result of decline in problem from headaches.

In conclusion, author need to check several point before making any conclusion. There are several stated and unstated assumption made by author which need specific evidences then only argument become strengthen.